Pong’s Garage 1996 Volvo 940 Turbo

My Volvo journey began on a quiet May afternoon 2019 whilst sitting on my sofa. While I was looking through the classifieds I happened to see a photo of a car which I fell in love with.

(follow Pong’s Garage and this car on Instagram @940_turbo and @pongsgarage)

There was nothing special with the car from what I could see. It looked just like any other old Volvo and yet it caught my eye. I decided that I wanted to take a look at the car for real and see what it was like.
A couple of days later I travelled to the city the car lived in at the time. After waiting in a parking lot for a few minutes the well-known Volvo grin hoved into view. It was dirty, the taillights were cracked and the exhaust pipe was hanging under the car in two pieces and yet I felt very happy. It was love at first sight.

When I got home with the car I had now named Agaton, I started by giving Agaton a good clean, inside and out and after that I needed to sort out the exhaust pipe. When all that was done, Agaton hit the road again.
During the first year I owned Agaton I did a lot of work. I changed the headlights, taillights, gave it a good service and lots more. A slight polish also happened during the first year and lots more cleaning. I repaired and replaced old broken plastic trim too which made a huge difference for the appearance.
Since then I have continued to replace old broken trim pieces and clips plus some more heavy duty stuff like bushings and calipers. At the moment, Agaton runs silky smooth in the engine and is a true pleasure to drive.

The story behind this car though is far from uneventful. According to what I have been able to find out about the car it served its first years in the Swedish police force. This means it is not all standard. It is modified to a certain extent and more modified than what the standard policecars were. Agaton has stiffer suspension, limited slip differential, heavy duty sway bars and a more powerful engine which is producing about 210hp although sadly the sticker on the timing belt cover is from another 940 and says its a B230FK, which it isn’t. The power though makes it huge fun to drive as it accelerates like a speeding bullitt. And the best thing is, other motorists do not notice it until the power gets released. It is a sort of mighty feeling to know that under your right foot there is a pedal that when pressed releases a determined bull terrier of a car.

My future plan for this car is to restore it to its former glory which means, sort out the rust. Agaton is a work in progress at the moment and will be for years to come.
If you want to check him out more then checkout 940_turbo on Instagram or Pongs Garage on YouTube.

Now sit back and enjoy some photos of this beautiful creation that is the Volvo 940.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started